Summer Fresh Salad

Standard

I don’t know about you guys, but I love a good salad. One with a good base of leafy greens, spinach is my favorite (sorry kale!), some crunch, and good flavor.

I know I’m late to the salad game, but I recently realized massaging the leaf base with a bit of oil and lemon or vinegar really ups the whole salad. Adding a bit of chopped nuts for a crunch and some fruit for sweetness.
IMG_1819

I’ve also come across cold-pressed juices. I got a pack of 6 bottles of juice from Pressed Juicery recently and though the juices are amazing, I love the lemon cayenne water. I know it’s probably super easy to make, which I probably will be making soon! It’s spicy, but sour, and delicious.

IMG_1821

 

Summer Fresh Salad Ingredients

Yields 1 serving

  • 1 cup baby spinach
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp vinegar or lemon juice
  • handful of baby carrots
  • handful of grape tomatoes
  • a few grapes (apples, strawberries, any types of berries, and sliced peaches are also great for this salad)
  • 1 tbsp nuts (I used half pistachios and half slivered almonds)

Massage the oil and vinegar or lemon into the spinach and set aside.

Chop up the vegetables and fruits into small bite sized pieces. Add to the spinach. Chop the nuts as finely as possible and mix into the salad.

 

This really did not need instructions, but this can just act as a base for any salad you like.

One thought on “Summer Fresh Salad

Leave a Reply

